DUI Attorney in Quincy, Massachusetts
Build a Strong Drunk Driving Defense
Massachusetts is among the states with the strictest DUI laws. The long-term consequences of a DUI conviction in Massachusetts can be damaging to your personal life and professional future. If convicted, you could be facing thousands of dollars in fines, several years in jail, suspension of license, probation, and more. In fact, a DUI conviction can remain on your criminal record for as long as you live.
If you are facing drunk driving charges in Quincy, Massachusetts, you need to retain an aggressive criminal defense attorney immediately to protect your rights, driving privileges, and future opportunities. McBride Law provides experienced and comprehensive legal services to individuals facing drunk driving charges. Reach out to McBride Law today to speak with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney and schedule a free consultation.
McBride Law is proud to serve clients throughout Quincy, Hingham, Norwell, Weymouth, Boston, and other areas across Massachusetts.
Experience Defending Against Drunk Driving Charges
Attorney Devin McBride is a highly-skilled and experienced criminal defense attorney in Quincy, Massachusetts. He has devoted his career to defending individuals facing drunk driving charges. Using his extensive knowledge and experience, he can help determine the best defense strategy for your case.
What’s more, Devin has a profound understanding of the nuances of Massachusetts DUI laws and the criminal justice system. He will fight strongly on your side in an attempt to get your sentence reduced, charges dismissed, and/or negotiate a favorable outcome.
OUI vs. DUI vs. DWI vs. OVI vs. OWI
The terms and acronyms OUI, DUI, DWI, OVI, and OWI, are often used interchangeably. Here is what each acronym means;
OUI: Operating while under the influence
DUI: Driving under the influence
DWI: Driving while intoxicated
OVI: Operating a vehicle while intoxicated
OWI: Operating while intoxicated or operating while impaired
All of the terms and acronyms described above typically refer to the same thing – a person was suspected to be driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor, alcohol, or drugs. However, OUI is the criminal charge in Massachusetts. Regardless, all terms are interchangeable and carry severe penalties.
Potential Criminal Penalties for OUI Convictions in Massachusetts
In 2016, Massachusetts had 389 traffic fatalities, of which 156 deaths, or 40 percent, were alcohol-related. Massachusetts has very strict DUI laws. The state follows a zero-tolerance policy. Any BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of .02 percent or higher in Massachusetts is considered operating under the influence.
Potential criminal penalties can range from substantial fines to jail time, probation, and license suspension. However, the severity of your penalty will depend on the circumstances of the current offense and the number of OUI convictions you have on your criminal record. Here are the potential penalties for OUI convictions in Massachusetts:
An OUI/DUI is considered a first offense if the driver has no previous OUI convictions within their lifetime. Potential criminal penalties for a first-time offender include:
Jail Time: Up to two and a half (2½) years in the House of Correction.
Fines: Between $500 and $5,000, along with a $50 OUI victim fund fee and a $250 assessment fee.
License Revocation: 1 year
However, you can apply for the “12-hour hardship license” after three months of license revocation. The license allows you to drive during a set 12-hour period each day. This requires you to use an ignition interlock device (IID).
An OUI/DUI is considered a second offense if the driver has one prior OUI conviction within their lifetime. Potential criminal penalties include:
Jail Time: 60 days to two and a half (2½) years in jail.
Fines: Between $600 and $10,000, along with a $50 OUI victim fund fee and a $250 assessment fee.
License Revocation: 2 years
Also, you can apply for the “12-hour hardship license” after one year of license revocation. This requires you to use an ignition interlock device (IID).
A third OUI/DUI conviction is considered a felony in Massachusetts. Potential penalties include:
Jail Time: 180 days to five years in state prison.
Fines: Between $1000 and $15,000.
License Revocation: 8 years
You may be eligible for a “12-hour hardship license” after two years of license revocation. This requires you to use an ignition interlock device (IID).
Alternate Dispositions: First or second OUI/DUI offenders are able to avoid many of the normal penalties by entering into a probation agreement.
Treatment: Drivers who are suspected to be operating under the influence of drugs or inhalants may have to complete a substance abuse education, rehab program, or treatment.
Why You Need a Criminal Defense Attorney
Defending your OUI/DUI charges without proper guidance can increase your risks of suffering the maximum penalties. If convicted, a criminal record can result in the loss of your professional license and other potential opportunities. If you are facing drunk driving charges, you need to retain an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately to defend your rights and pursue the best outcome possible.
DUI Defense Serving Quincy, Massachusetts
Don’t face your drunk driving charges alone. Let an experienced criminal defense attorney protect your rights. Call McBride Law today to schedule a free consultation. Attorney Devin McBride can determine your best defense strategy for a favorable outcome. Based in Quincy, Massachusetts, McBride Law is proud to serve clients in the communities of Hingham, Norwell, Weymouth, Boston, and other areas across the state of Massachusetts.