A Criminal Charge Doesn't Have to Become a Conviction

Will I Lose My License After Being Charged With a DUI?

In 2018, about 8,280 arrests were made for driving under the influence. All DUI convictions in Massachusetts result in suspended licenses or driving privileges which can have significant ramifications on the accused’s work and social life. The defendant may also receive additional penalties, such as huge fines, jail time, or probation.

If you have been charged with a DUI offense, it is crucial to retain an aggressive and skilled Massachusetts DUI defense attorney immediately to protect your rights and driving privileges. McBride Law is committed to providing experienced and comprehensive legal services to clients facing drunk driving charges. They can fight aggressively to protect your rights, help fight against your license suspension, or help reinstate your driving privileges. McBride Law is proud to serve clients throughout Quincy, Boston, Norwell, Hingham, and Weymouth, Massachusetts. Reach out today for a free consultation.

DUI/OUI License Penalties

In Massachusetts, operating a motor vehicle in a public way with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more, or while under the influence of a controlled substance is prohibited. Potential criminal penalties for drunk driving convictions can range from hefty fines to jail time, probation, license suspension/revocation, and mandatory alcohol treatment programs.

The severity of the punishment will depend on the number of previous DUI convictions and other surrounding circumstances. Potential license penalties for DUI/OUI convictions in Massachusetts include:

First Offense

  • Failing a Breath Test: License suspension for 30 days

  • Refusing a Breath Test: License loss for 180 days (6 months)

  • License Revocation: 1 year

Second Offense

  • Failing a Breath Test: License suspension for 30 days

  • Refusing a Breath Test: License loss for 3 years

  • License Revocation: 2 years

Third Offense

  • Failing a Breath Test: License suspension for 30 days

  • Refusing a Breath Test: License loss for 5 years

  • License Revocation: 8 years

Hardship License

Drivers who have their license suspended or revoked can apply for a hardship license upon completing a portion of their penalty and after an ignition interlock device (IID) is installed. A hardship license is a restricted driver's license that allows driving for a maximum of 12 hours, seven days a week.

However, a hardship license may only be granted subject to the Registry of Motor Vehicles’ (RMV's) discretion. Before an application for a hardship license can be approved, the requester will need to complete detailed documentation that they are likely to suffer substantial "hardship" without the limited use license.

Who Qualifies For A Hardship License?

To qualify for a hardship license, the requester must demonstrate that they need the limited driver's license to:

  • Attend school

  • Get to work

  • Receive medical treatment

  • Other reasons that are considered valid by the RMV hearing officer

Additional requirements and qualifications may apply and valid documentation will need to be provided as verification of necessity.

If a hardship license is granted, the standard fees for license reinstatement will need to be paid. The cost ranges from $100 to $1,200, depending on the offense.

Importance of Working with
An Experienced Lawyer

Fighting your OUI charges without proper guidance from an experienced attorney can increase your chances of suffering the maximum punishment. If convicted, you could risk losing your driver’s license. This is why it is crucial to retain a knowledgeable and aggressive Massachusetts DUI defense attorney to help protect your rights and driving privileges.

Attorney Devin McBride had devoted his career to providing strong representation and helping clients defend their DUI charges. Using his extensive experience, he will determine the best defense strategy for your case and help you navigate the Massachusetts criminal justice system.

As your legal counsel, McBride Law will fight vigorously on your behalf to establish your innocence and ensure that your driving privileges are not suspended. Even if you lose your driving privileges, he will help defend your rights and get your license reinstated.

Contact McBride Law today to schedule a free one-on-one consultation with an experienced Massachusetts criminal defense attorney. Based in Quincy, McBride Law is proud to serve clients throughout Boston, Norwell, Hingham, and Weymouth, Massachusetts.